Janet (Jan) Box-Steffensmeier

Janet (Jan) Box-Steffensmeier

Janet (Jan) Box-Steffensmeier

Divisional Dean, Social and Behavioral Sciences



2049S Derby Hall
154 N Oval Mall
Columbus, OH 43210

Google Map

Curriculum Vitae

Professor Box-Steffensmeier is Vernal Riffe Professor of Political Science and Professor of Sociology (courtesy) and directs the Program in Statistics and Methodology (PRISM). Professor Box-Steffensmeier also serves as the divisional dean of the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, and was instrumental in advancing the Democracy Studies program at The Ohio State University.

She was recently selected as a member of the 2017 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She was an inaugural Fellow of the Society for Political Methodology. Box-Steffensmeier is currently the President-Elect of the American Political Science Association, having served as the Treasurer and Vice President previously. She also served as the President of the Midwest Political Science Association and Political Methodology Society. She served as the faculty representative to the Ohio State Board of Trustees in 2013 and 2014, as well as served as the Divisional Dean for Social and Behavioral Sciences and the Dean for Graduate Affairs for the College of Arts and Science from 2014-2018 and the Interim Executive Dean and Vice Provost 2018-2019.

She has twice received the Gosnell Award for the best work in political methodology and the Emerging Scholar Award of the Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior Section of the American Political Science Association in 2001. The Box-Steffensmeier Graduate Student Award, given annually by the Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is named after her in recognition of her contributions in political methodology and her support of women in the field. She received a Distinguished Teaching Award from the Political Science Department in 2013, Distinguished Undergraduate Mentor Award from Ohio State University in 2009, Political Methodology Excellence in Mentoring Award in 2016, Women’s Caucus for the Midwest Political Science Association’s Outstanding Professional Achievement for Scholarship and Mentorship in 2016, Ohio State University Distinguished Scholar award in 2012, Political Methodology Career Achievement Award in 2013 and Warren E. Miller Award for Meritorious Service to the Social Sciences in 2013.